About Us

The Clayton County Energy District (CCED) is a non-profit organization committed to strengthening our community through inclusively leading, accelerating and implementing the clean energy transition.

our vision

Include Everyone, Electrify Everything, Decarbonize Electricity

The CCED has a three-pronged community building mission:

  • To positively affect the local economy by retaining energy dollars in Clayton County.
  • To slow climate change by promoting wise energy use.
  • To include everyone.

We are Keeping Energy Local & Clean

Clayton County Energy District Members Value

  • Retention and Reinvestment of energy dollars in the local community
  • Clean, renewable, locally owned energy for ALL
  • Sustainable & Wise energy use for the long term health of planet Earth

Program Director – Joleen Jansen 563.880.7915 or email

In cooperation with and under the mentorship of Andy Johnson, Director of the Winneshiek Energy District

Meet the CCED Board

Joleen Jansen – Program Director

Joleen lives south of Elkader near the Motor Mill. She and her husband, Jim, are parents to three grown children. In addition to the CCED work, she owns and operates Jansen Products, a local web development business, and is the energy district startup coach for the Clean Energy Districts of Iowa. Joleen grew up as a proud Dubuquer and is a Coe College graduate. She began her professional career as a clinical medical technologist. She worked as the environmental sanitarian for the City of Dubuque and Winneshiek County; and Winneshiek’s zoning administrator. In 2014, after attending a Winneshiek Energy District solar workshop, Joleen and her husband decided to “go solar.” During that time, she learned about the energy district concept and wondered if it could be replicated in Clayton County. After months of exploration, she and a group of local clean energy champions incorporated the Clayton County Energy District, the 2nd ever energy district! Since then, Joleen has helped grow the “green meets green” energy district movement throughout the state and region. The Jansens solar power their acreage, drive an all-electric Chevy Bolt, and use an electric heat pump to heat and cool their home and hot water.


Dr. Jim Osterhaus – Guttenberg – Chair (serving since 2016)

I am a retired dentist and live with my wife, Sue, in Guttenberg. We installed geothermal heat and air conditioning and a solar array in 2007 when we did a major remodeling project on our house. The payback on both projects is complete and we are now reaping the rewards of renewable energy. I serve on the board of the CCED because I have long been a conservationist and I completely agree with the mission of providing clean, efficient, affordable and local energy.

Randy Lenth – St. Olaf – Vice Chair (serving since 2018)

As a city manager and member of a municipal power agency I oversaw municipal utility projects and developed community solar policies. Serving on the County Energy District Board allows me to continue this work and promote solar initiatives.

Elaine Funke – Edgewood – Treasurer (serving since 2016)

Elaine is the Financial Services Vice President at Community Savings Bank. Elaine has help finance numerous solar projects.

Ron Kaiser – Garnavillo (serving since 2016)

Ron is a retired dairy farmer and a Clayton County Soil and Water Conservation Commissioner. Ron serves on the CCED board of directors because he knows the Energy District is helping residents realize the benefits of energy savings. Energy savings can be both environmentally and economically beneficial! He is especially excited by the advancement in the solar industry and the many applications for individuals, municipalities and businesses large and small.

Tom Klingman – Volga (serving since 2018)

As a co-founder of a local not-for-profit economic development organization for rural communities in NEIA, I have a great appreciation for the large economic impact of Clayton County Energy District. As a long time conservationist, I enjoy the opportunity the Energy District provides to increase awareness and focus on bringing green energy to our local communities.

Kathy Koether – Monona (Serving since 2020)

Kathy is the Elementary Principal at MFL MarMac Elementary School in Monona.

I decided to join the CCED because I had been receiving the board notes and minutes and found the mission, the vision, and the discussions about how to increase energy efficiency in Clayton County to be an outstanding initiative! I have great respect for the current board members and the expertise that each brings to the conversation.
Clayton County is a gem. It offers a wide variety of opportunities. I am passionate about keeping the county “green” and available for future generations. Anything that we can do as citizens to provide clean energy-using alternative approaches such as solar, or wind energy, or other sources, is something that I support and am passionate about. I am hoping that we can find solutions for making Clayton County an energy efficient district and look for creative approaches for saving the citizens and businesses financial expense by looking at these alternative ways to provide energy.


Jenna Pollock

Jenna Pollock is a native of Clayton County and currently serves as the Executive Director for the Clayton County Conservation Board. A 2008 graduate of Valley Community High School of Elgin, Jenna graduated with her Bachelor of Arts degree from Luther College in Decorah in 2012. Jenna has a deep-rooted love for the natural environment born from her experience in agriculture. Jenna currently lives near Volga on her family farm and assists with raising hogs, cattle, and crops. In her first-year on the Empower Rural Iowa Grow Task Force she’s engaging with a leadership development program to inspire and engage community members for a brighter future for Clayton County. Jenna joined the Clayton County Energy District to learn and help educate others about practices and policies that work to reduce energy consumption, protect the natural environment, and provide economic development opportunities to improve quality of life in her community.

Ashley Althoff – Communications Specialist

Ashley is a native of Clayton County and currently resides in Dubuque. She owns and operates Ashley Althoff, LLC which consists of freelance art and marketing, event planning, and more. She is also an active Health Coach. She loves to be outdoors with her dogs, spread health, wellness and sustainable-living education, and travel.

Jacob Lucas – Energy Coach

Jacob resides in rural Dubuque County with his wife Jamie, and three kids. Jacob is an engineer by trade and works for the municipal consulting firm, Veenstra & Kimm, Inc., where he assists municipal Clients in implementing all forms of public infrastructure projects. He is a member of the Dubuque County Energy District board of directors and enjoys working within his community and the surrounding areas to educate and inform others on how they can implement energy-saving practices.

Chris Gregerson – Energy Coach

Chris Gregerson is a lifelong resident of Clayton County. Chris and his wife Michelle, along with their children, reside near Elkader. They have three children: Madylen, Mya, and Camryn. Chris enjoys living in Northeast Iowa and appreciates the beauty of this area. In Chris’s free time, he enjoys being outdoors, kayaking with family and friends, and hunting. Chris is employed at Keystone AEA as the Maintenance Supervisor. His past experiences have made him interested in this opportunity to be an Energy Coach. He is looking forward to visiting with others and helping better educate business owners of energy-efficient opportunities.

Support CCED with your membership!

Always Get the Latest Clayton County Clean Energy News!

* indicates required